Like any other criminal charge, a defendant accused of DUI-DWI in Florida is innocent until proven guilty. If guilt is found and defendant is convicted, they could be facing serious penalties including fines, loss of driving privileges, and DUI jail time. Florida DUI laws and penalties change constantly. Florida DUI penalties also vary depending on a defendant’s age, aggravating circumstances, and previous DUI convictions.
Below is an overview of penalties DUI-DWI defendants could face in Florida. This should only be used as a guide.
Legal BAC Limits
|21 and Over||.08%|
Look back: 5 years Look back is the period of time an offense stays on a driver’s record. If a driver is facing a DUI or impaired driving charge, the state could “look back” into the drivers record this amount of time (varies by state) to determine if they are a repeat offender. This could result in harsher penalties if previously convicted.
Penalties for Refusing To Take State Administered Chemical Test
Below are state minimum penalties if a driver is subject to the implied consent law for failing to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test to determine BAC.
|Offense||Jail Time||License Suspension|
|1st||No minimum required||1 year|
|2nd||10 days||1.5 years|
|3rd||30 days||1.5 years|
Penalties for Criminal Case Convictions
If a driver is convicted of DUI, per se or less safe, they could be facing the state minimum penalties listed below. It is important to note that state minimum penalties increase if a driver has previous DUI convictions.
|Offense||Jail Time||Fines||License Suspension|
Don’t let a DUI charge negatively impact your life. Contact TeamDUI.com today to speak to a Florida DUI attorney today. This includes Tampa DUI attorneys, Miami DUI attorneys and Jacksonville DUI attorneys. Or submit an online evaluation with your case information an a highly knowledgeable attorney near you will contact you.
Copyright 2015. William C. Head. All Rights Reserved.