New Mexico DUI Laws & Penalties | TeamDUI.com

New Mexico DUI Laws & Penalties


Like any other criminal charge, a defendant accused of DUI-DWI is innocent until proven guilty. If guilt is found and the defendant is convicted, they could be facing serious penalties including fines, loss of driving privileges, and jail time. DUI Laws and Penalties vary by state. Penalties also vary depending on a defendant's age, aggravating circumstances, and previous DUI convictions.

Below is an overview of penalties DUI-DWI defendants could face in Alaska. This should only be used as a guide.

Legal BAC Limits

 
BAC
21 and Over.08%
Commercial.04%
Under 21.02%


Look back: 10 years
Looking back is the period of time an offense stays on a driver's record. If a driver is facing a DUI or impaired driving charge, the state could "look back" into the drivers' record this amount of time (varies by state) to determine if they are a repeat offender. This could result in harsher penalties if previously convicted.

Penalties for Refusing To Take State Administered Chemical Test

Below are state minimum penalties if a driver is subject to the implied consent law for failing to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test to determine BAC.

Offense
Jail Time
License Suspension
1stNo minimum required1 year
2nd4 days1 year
3rd30 days1 year


Penalties for Criminal Case Convictions

If a driver is convicted of DUI, per se or less safe, they could be facing the state minimum penalties listed below. It is important to note that state minimum penalties increase if a driver has previous DUI convictions.

OffenseJail TimeFinesLicense Suspension
1stUp to 90 daysUp to $1,000Up to 1 year
2ndUp to 1 yearUp to $1,0002 years
3rdUp to 1 yearUp to $1,0003 years


Don't let a DUI charge negatively impact your life. Contact TeamDUI.com today to speak to an attorney today. Or submit an online evaluation with your case information and a highly knowledgeable attorney near you will contact you.

Copyright 2015. William C. Head. All Rights Reserved.

Related Articles



Contact Us

For a FREE Case Evaluation with a specialized DUI-DWI attorney, call or submit your case details. We are available 24 hours/7 days a week1-844-TEAM-DUI (1-844-832-6384) 


Copyright [y]. William C. Head. All Rights Reserved.